side menu icon

Girl Scouts of North East Ohio Honors Volunteers at Adult Recognition Ceremony

Macedonia, OH – Girl Scouts of North East Ohio (GSNEO) along with its board of directors celebrated the commitment and achievements of several adult volunteers who dedicate their time to help develop girls of courage, confidence, and character in the Girl Scout Program at the 2017 Adult Recognition Ceremony, which was held at the Holiday Inn Cleveland-South in Independence on Saturday, April 29, 2017.

“Volunteers are the backbone of our organization,” said Chief Executive Officer Jane Christyson. “Girl Scouting would not exist without the dedication and talents of our volunteers –  Girl Scouts throughout Northeast Ohio benefit from our volunteer program, strong mentor relationships, and leadership examples.”

GSNEO currently has over 8,000 active volunteers that play an important role in Girl Scouting. Volunteers help girls discover themselves, connect with others, and take action to make the world a better place. As role models for the girls they lead, volunteers introduce girls to new experiences and create lasting memories.

There are numerous ways to volunteer with GSNEO that fit varying schedules, skills and interests. Opportunities include troop leader, program facilitator, service unit director, event chairperson or committee member, Girl Scout Leadership Experience (GSLE) Coach, and board member. All opportunities play an important role in serving 35,000 girls throughout GSNEO’s 18 county region.

A total of 87 adult volunteers received awards at the 2016 Adult Recognition Ceremony: Appreciation Pin (54), Honor Pin (12), Thanks Badge (6), Thanks Badge II (1), President’s Award (11), Forever Green (3).

Appreciation Pin:
Stephanie Allen

Stephanie Balduff

Jennifer Bier

Janet Black

Drema Bolen

Shannon Bowman

Susan Buerlen

Amy Byerly

Heather Caldwell

Irene Christian

Erica Curtis

Jennifer Daly-Martin

Sara Dugan

Ashley Frohwerk

Mary Kay Gebler

Robin Gelet

Kimberly Grubb

Tammy Guy

Diennia Hall

Dienne Hatch

Michelle Hellickson

Corrine Henning

Lauren Heroux

Beth Hofacker

Lindsey Jezek

Colleen Joseph

Kathy Keaggy

Diane Kiss

Wendy Lambert

Amanda Lemley

Stephanie Marchant

Appreciation Pin (Cont.):

Melissa Marflak

Charles McBride

Betsy McCafferty

Amy McManus

Jamie McMillen

Lauren Milota

Beth Monhemius

Sara Musarra

Crystal Nowak

Dawn Obrenski-Riffle

Sandra Orland

Arlis Pilch

Sara Rawdon

Traci Rosario

Melissa Seaborn

Tara Searcy

Cynthia Steele

Kimberlee Ullner

Arlene Utz

Amy Voss

Ronda Wills

Becky Wise

Laura Zodnik


Honor Pin:
Laura Bricker

Tina Cragin

Dine Destefano

Mary Jo Fox

Wendy Johnson

Cindy Keyes

Lori Koechley

Cecilia Morisak

Christle Quinn

Erin Randel

Janine Ricketts

Patty Zivkovic






Thanks Badge:
Donna Alherimi

Julie Brandle

Nicole Cucuzza

Barb Fieger

Kelly Gombert

Brenda Horton


Thanks Badge II:
Krista Koscinski


President’s Award:
Service Unit 622 (Golden Sunrise, Tuscarawas)        

Service Unit 673 (Canton, Stark)       

Service Unit 717 (North Olmsted, Cuyahoga)

Service Unit 761 (Wickliffe, Lake)      

Service Unit 811 (Liberty, Trumbull)

Service Unit 821 (Boardman/Poland, Mahoning)

Service Unit 914 (Kent, Portage)

Service Unit 941 (Brunswick, Medina)

Service Unit 512 (Elyria, Lorain)

Service Unit 613 (Jackson, Stark)

Service Unit 953 (Barberton, Summit)


Forever Green:
Tina Collins

Priscilla Nemetz

Stephanie Toth


Appreciation Pin – recognizes an individual’s exemplary service in support of delivering the Girl Scout Leadership Experience.

Honor Pin – recognizes an individual’s exemplary service in support of delivering the Girl Scout Leadership Experience, and has had a measureable impact on two or more geographic areas of service, allowing the council to reach and surpass its mission delivery goals.

Thanks Badge – honors an individual whose ongoing commitment, leadership, and service have had an exceptional, measureable impact on meeting the mission-delivery goals and priorities of the entire Council or the entire Girl Scout Movement.

Thanks Badge II – honors previous Thanks Badge recipients who continue to provide exemplary service in a leadership role, resulting in a measureable impact that benefits the total Council or entire Girl Scout Movement.

Presidents Award – recognizes any registered adult Girl Scout for outstanding service to a Council-wide position and dedication that impacts the success of the Girl Scout Leadership Experience for GSNEO.

Forever Green Award – honors previous recipients of the Appreciation Pin, Honor Pin, Thanks Badge and Thanks Badge II who has continued to provide exemplary service in a leadership role, resulting in a measureable impact that benefits the entire Girl Scout Movement.

To become a Girl Scout volunteer, contact or call 800-852-4474.