Girl Scouts of North East Ohio Elects New Board Members and Board Development Committee Members
side menu icon

Girl Scouts of North East Ohio Elects New Board Members and Board Development Committee Members

Girl Scouts of North East Ohio (GSNEO) recently announced the election of its new Board of Directors, representing communities throughout the 18 counties the council serves.  Continuing board officers are Laura Watson Schultz, Chair; Judith E. Matsko, Vice Chair; Matthew Inks, Treasurer; and Kathy Moock, Secretary.

Among the new board members who will serve two-year terms (2019-2021) are Brecksville resident Kate Asbeck, a retired financial executive who most recently served as Chief Financial Officer of the Cleveland Foundation; Lordstown resident Kristina Wilson, who is a Private Banking Specialist with Chemical Bank and Mayfield Heights resident Christina Young, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, who is Vice President of Patient Services and Chief Nursing Officer at Akron Children’s Hospital.   Pepper Pike resident Katlyn Shand, CPA who serves as Senior Manager of Financial Reporting and Technical Accounting at TravelCenters of America LLC was elected to an unexpired term (2019-2020).

“We are pleased to welcome our new board members to the team, as well as those who were re-elected to another term to continue to serve our council’s mission,” Board Chair Laura Watson Schultz said. “Their expertise in their respective fields will help us achieve the strategic growth objectives and goals we have established for our council for the upcoming year.”

Among those re-elected to continue in their roles as board members are Members-at-Large Diana Bilimoria, Ph.D., KeyBank Professor and Chair and Professor of Organizational Behavior at the Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University; Joseph Gutkoski, Esq., an attorney with Signet Jewelers LTD, in Akron; Shay Little, Ph.D., who serves as the executive officer and provides overall leadership to the Division of Student Affairs at Kent State University; Sandra Rapp, Vice President, Chief Information Officer for The Timken Company; and Chris Venditti, Senior Manager of Revenue Growth Management with the J.M. Smucker Company.  The two girl Members-at-Large, who were elected to the Board for a one-year term from 2019-2020, include Kristen Blyler of Hudson and Ava Kress of North Royalton.  They join continuing GSNEO Board Members-at-Large: Allison Baker, Kim Davenport, Robyn Gordon, Nicole Rodenfels, Cindy Skelton-Becker, and Ellen Stephens.

Two Board Development Committee members were also elected to serve a two-year term from 2019-2021.  Newly elected is Rocky River resident Kaitlyn Pillar, CPA, who serves as Manager of Financial Reporting at TravelCenters of America, LLC; while North Ridgeville resident Julie Cruz Blair, who is Executive Director of Leadership Lorain County was re-elected to serve a second term.  They join continuing Board Development Committee members: Michelle Albro; Kaitlyn Shand; Karen Stock, Ph.D.; Heather Clayton Terry; Chris Venditti; and Vivian von Gruenigen, MD.

The Board Development Committee is comprised of outstanding community volunteer leaders who have the responsibility of identifying and cultivating a diverse candidate pool for the Board of Directors, Board Development Committee, and National Delegates. The committee ensures that GSNEO is led by dynamic individuals with the skills, influence, and experience necessary to carry out the council’s strategic priorities.

To learn more about governance positions with Girl Scouts of North East Ohio, please email