side menu icon

Girl Scouts of North East Ohio Announces 2022 Women of Distinction Honorees


Girl Scouts of North East Ohio (GSNEO) is excited to announce this year’s honorees who will be recognized at the Women of Distinction event on Friday, May 6 at the InterContinental Hotel Cleveland. This year, there will be a new pre-event Connections Reception celebrating all past Women of Distinction honorees as well as the 2022 honorees.

The awards event serves to recognize female leaders who exemplify Girl Scout values of ethical leadership, professional accomplishments, and a commitment to making a difference in the lives of others while also raising funds for the Girl Scout Leadership Experience. In highlighting these honorees, GSNEO inspires girls to achieve their own goals and dreams.

“Girls need to see leadership, courage, confidence, and purpose-driven accomplishment in other women in order to envision themselves with those qualities,” said GSNEO CEO Jane Christyson.  “We are very proud to celebrate local role models who pave the way for our future female leaders.”

2022 Women of Distinction Honorees:

  • Judge Theresa Dellick, Mahoning County Juvenile Court
  • Jennifer Deutsch, Park Place Technologies
  • Ka-Pi Hoh, Ph.D., The Lubrizol Corporation
  • Michelle P. Medina, MD, FAAP, Cleveland Clinic Community Care; Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine/Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Sondra Miller, Cleveland Rape Crisis Center
  • Sherry Neubert, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
  • Tiffani Sutton, The Cutting Board Academy
  • Karen Talbott, Child Guidance & Family Solutions
  • Magistrate Jennifer D. Towell, Akron Municipal Court
  • Judge Annalisa S. Williams, Akron Municipal Court

Nominations were reviewed by a panel of community leaders, led by Women of Distinction Event Chair Sandy Rapp, senior vice president, chief information officer at TravelCenters of America and a 2021 Woman of Distinction honoree. The event will be hosted by emcee Betsy Kling, chief meteorologist at WKYC Studios.

The Advancing Women Award, also awarded at the event, is presented to an organization for its strong commitment to advancing women in the workplace. 

  • KeyBank’s Key4Women Program is this year’s Advancing Women Award honoree.

Three Girl Scouts who are emerging as future leaders will be awarded the Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship. These honorees have a strong commitment to engaging in the Girl Scout Leadership Experience. They also demonstrate high scholastic achievement, creativity, initiative, and community outreach, and they embody the council’s belief that young women with promise today will become tomorrow’s leaders.

  • Jordan Anamasi, Avon High School
  • Shelby Bennett, Lake Ridge Academy
  • Nicole Kemer, Midview High School

For more information about the event and to learn about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Laura De’Armond Szucs at or 330.283.0353.